Enquiries to

Kate Cowey
email: CoweyKJ@Angus.gov.uk
Telephone: 01307 491883,
Mobile: 07766 500363


TAYplan Student Project (2 Nov 2009)

November 2nd, 2009
Winning Student team and judging panel

The winning group with some of the judging panel

A group of six honours year Town and Regional Planning students from Dundee University has been recognised for its vision for the area for the next 20 years.

The group picked up the gauntlet thrown down by TAYplan, the new Strategic Development Planning Authority, to create a strategy for future development throughout the Dundee, Angus, Perth and Kinross and North/East Fife area.

Liam McAulay, James McCrum, Lewis Reekie, Nikki Smith, Michael Sykes and Jamie Watt were judged to have come up with the clearest and best justified strategy by a panel of expert assessors.

TAYplan Manager Pamela Ewen, who was one of the judging panel said:

"Overall the quality of the eight groups’ presentations was good and the University of Dundee’s School of Social and Environmental Sciences can be credited for the quality of students that are coming through the undergraduate Town and Regional Planning, postgraduate Spatial Planning and postgraduate Advanced Sustainability courses.

The winning group set out three spatial strategy options very clearly and with good justification. The presentation style was very good and the review panel considered that this group delivered very well what the study requirements were.

The exercise provided students with the experience of an important area of work that is required for the creation and implementation of new Strategic Development Plans."


More about preparing plans, participating in consultations and registering with us.


Click here to view document published by TAYplan


Legislation and government guidance